Dr. Neha Chauhan

Dr. Neha Chauhan

Post-Doctoral Fellow

Solid State and Structural Chemistry Unit (SSCU)
Indian Institute of Science (IISc)
Bengaluru- 560012, Karnataka, India

Phone: 080 2293 2952/2295
E-mail: nehachauhan@iisc.ac.in, nehachauhan16@gmail.com

Date of joining: Jan 2020


Synthesis and assembly of metallic, polymeric and 2D nanomaterials
Thin films and nano-device fabrication
Optoelectronics with hybrid nanomaterials


  • Synthesis and assembly of metallic, polymeric and 2D nanomaterials
  • Thin films and nano-device fabrication
  • Optoelectronics with hybrid nanomaterials


  • Ph.D. (Bio-Nano Science Fusion), Toyo University, Japan (2011 – 2014)
  • M.Sc. (Electronics), Jamia Millia Islamia, Delhi, India (2007 – 2009)
  • B.A.Sc. (Electronics), University of Delhi, India (2004 – 2007)


  • Post-Doctoral Fellow, SSCU, IISc, Bengaluru, India (2020 – Current)
  • Post-Doctoral Fellow, Physics Department, IISc, Bengaluru, India (2018 – 2020)
  • Post-Doctoral Fellow, Toyo University, Japan (2014 – 2018)
  • Research Assistant, Toyo University, Japan (2011 – 2018)
  • Project Assistant, National Physical Laboratory (NPL), CSIR, India (2009 – 2011)
  • Research Intern, NPL, India (Jan 2009 – June 2009)


  • C.V. Raman Post-Doctoral (RPDF) Fellowship (2020)
  • D.S. Kothari Post-Doctoral (DSKPDF) Fellowship (2019)
  • Cover Page Articles (2014): DOI: 10.1002/admi.201400515 and DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.1166/mex.2014.1191
  • Best Poster Award
    • High-Sensitive magnetic field sensors for nano-magnetic applications. IUMRS- ICYRAM (International Conference of Young Researchers in Applied Materials), held at IISc, Bengaluru, India (Dec 2016).
    • Cancer therapy based on shape dependent biocompatible gold hybrid nanostructures. Nanosmat – 9th International Conference on surfaces, coating and nanostructure materials, held at Dublin, Ireland (Sep, 2014).
  • Japanese Government MEXT Scholarship (2011)
  • All Rounders Award, University of Delhi, India (2007)


  1. A. Roberts*, N. Chauhan*, S. Islam, S. Mahari, B. Ghawri, R. K. Gandham, S. S. Majumdar, A. Ghosh, S. Gandhi. Functionalized Graphene Field-Effect Transistor for Ultrasensitive detection of Japanese Encephalitis and Avian Influenza VirusSci. Rep. (2020(*Equally Contributed). (Accepted)
  2. N. Keswani, Y. Nakajima, N. Chauhan, T. Ukai, H. Chakraborti, K. D. Gupta, T. Hanajiri , S. Kumar, Y. Ohno, H. Ohno, and P. Das. Complex switching behavior of magnetostatically coupled single-domain nanomagnets probed by micro-Hall magnetometryAppl. Phys. Lett. (2020), 116, 102401. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1063/1.5144841
  3. N. Keswani, Y. Nakajima, N. Chauhan, S. Kumar, H. Ohno, P. Das. Fabrication and characterization of sub-micron scale Hall devices from 2-dimensional electron gas at the heterostrutcure of GaAs/AlGaAs. AIP Conference Proceedings 1953, 050071 (2018). DOI: https://doi.org/10.1063/1.5032726
  4. V. Palaninathan, S. Raveendran, A.K. Rochani, N. Chauhan, Y. Sakamoto, T. Ukai, T. Maekawa and D.S. Kumar, Bioactive bacterial cellulose sulfate electrospun nanofibers for tissue engineering and regenerative medicineJ Tissue Eng Regen Med. (2018); 12(7), 1634-1645. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1002/term.2689
  5. S. Dhanekar, P. Dwivedi, N. Chauhan, V. Palaninathan, D.S. Kumar, Pushpapraj Singh. Capturing bacteria through a bio-sensitive heterostructure surface: Photoluminescence studiesIEEE Sensors (2017). DOI: 10.1109/ICSENS.2017.8234042
  6. P. Diwedi, N. Chauhan, V. Dhyani, D.S. Kumar, S. Dhanekar. Design, Fabrication, Characterization and Packaging of Bottom Gate and Nano-porous TiO2 based FET. Proceedings of the 17th IEEE International Conference on Nanotechnology (IEEE Nano) (2017). DOI: 10.1109/NANO.2017.8117298.
  7. A. Roychoudhury, A. Prateek, N. Chauhan, D.S. Kumar, S. Basu, and S. K. Jha. Tyrosinase-Conjugated Prussian Blue-Modified Nickel Oxide Nanoparticles-Based Interface for Selective Detection of DopamineChemistrySelect, (2017), 2, 6118 – 6128. DOI: 10.1002/slct.201701304.
  8. M. Kumar, S. Kumar, N. Chauhan, D.S. Kumar, V. Kumar and R. Singh. Study of GaN nanowires converted from β-Ga2O3 and photoconduction in single nanowireSemicond. Sci. Technol., (2017), 32, 085012 (14pp); http://doi.org/10.1088/1361-6641/aa790d
  9. N. Chauhan, T. Maekawa, D.S. Kumar. Graphene Based Biosensors – Accelerating Medical Diagnostics to New-Dimensions, (Invited Review). J. Mater. Res., (2017), 32(15). DOI: http://doi.org/10.1557/jmr.2017.91
  10. P. Dwivedi, N. Chauhan, V. Palaninathan, S. Das, D.S. Kumar, S. Dhanekar. Scalable fabrication of prototype sensor for selective and sub-ppm level ethanol sensing based on TiO2 nanotubes decorated porous siliconSens. Actuators B-Chem, (2017); 249, 602-610. DOI: http://doi.org/10.1016/j.snb.2017.03.154
  11. A. Jindal, S. Basu, N. Chauhan, T. Ukai, D.S. Kumar, K.T. Samudhyatha. Application of electrospun CNX nanofibers as cathode in microfluidic fuel cellJ. Power Sources (2017); 342, 165–174. DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.jpowsour.2016.12.047
  12. N. Chauhan, V. Palaninathan, S. Raveendran, A.C. Poulose, Y. Nakajima, T. Hasumura, T. Uchida, T. Hanajiri, T. Maekawa, D.S. Kumar. N2-Plasma-Assisted One-Step Alignment and Patterning of Graphene Oxide on a SiO2/Si Substrate via the Langmuir-Blodgett Technique. Adv. Mater. Interfaces (2015); 2(5), 1400515. DOI: 10.1002/admi.201400515
  13. S. Raveendran, N. Chauhan, V. Palaninathan, Y. Nagaoka, Y. Yoshida, T. Maekawa, D.S. Kumar. Extremophilic polysaccharide for biosynthesis and passivation of gold nanoparticles and photothermal ablation of cancer cells. Part. Part. Syst. Charact. (2015); 32, 54–64. DOI: 10.1002/ppsc.201400081
  14. V. Palaninathan, N. Chauhan, A.C. Poulose, S. Raveendran, T. Mizuki, T. Hasumura, T. Fukuda, H. Morimoto, Y. Yoshida, T. Maekawa, D.S. Kumar. Acetosulfation of bacterial cellulose: An unexplored promising incipient candidate for highly transparent thin film. Mater. Express (2014); 4, 415–421. DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.1166/mex.2014.1191
  15. S. Raveendran*, N. Chauhan*, Y. Nakajima, H. Toshiaki, S. Kurosu, Y. Tanizawa, R. Tero, Y. Yoshida, T. Hanajiri, T. Maekawa, P.M. Ajayan, A. Sandhu, and D. S. Kumar. Ecofriendly route for the synthesis of highly conductive graphene using extremophiles for green electronics and bioscience. Part. Part. Syst. Charact. (2013); 30(7): 573-578. (*Equally Contributed). DOI: 10.1002/ppsc.201200126.
  16. S. Raveendran, V. Palaninathan, N. Chauhan, Y. Sakamoto, Y. Yoshida, T. Maekawa, P.V. Mohanan, D.S. Kumar. In vitro evaluation of antioxidant defense mechanism and hemocompatibility of Mauran. Carbohydrate Polymers (2013); 98: 108–115. DOI: 10.1016/j.carbpol.2013.04.050.
  17. N. ChauhanS. Gupta, N. Singh, S. Singh, S.S. Islam, K.N. Sood, R. Pasricha. Aligned nanogold assisted one step sensing and removal of heavy metal ionsJ. Colloid Interface Sci. (2011); 363: 42–50. DOI: 10.1016/j.jcis.2011.07.018.
  18. S.R. Dhakate, N. Chauhan, S. Sharma, R.B. Mathur. The production of multi-layer graphene nanoribbons from thermally reduced unzipped multi-walled carbon nanotubes. CARBON (2011); 49: 4170–4178. DOI: 10.1016/j.carbon.2011.05.060.
  19. S.R. Dhakate, N. Chauhan, S. Sharma, J. Tawale, S. Singh, P.D. Sahare, R.B. Mathur. An approach to produce single- and double-layer graphene from re-exfoliation of expanded graphite. CARBON (2011); 49: 1946–1954. DOI: 10.1016/j.carbon.2010.12.068.
  20. S.R. Dhakate, N. Chauhan, S. Sharma and R.B. Mathur. A strategy to produce single- and double-layer graphene sheets. Adv. Mat. Res. (2011); 306-3-7, 1435-1439. DOI: 10.4028/www.scientific.net/AMR.306-307.1435
  21. S.R. Dhakate, S. Sharma, N. Chauhan, R.K. Seth and R.B. Mathur. CNTs nanostructuring effect on the properties of graphite composite bipolar plate. Int. J. Hydrogen Energy (2010); 35: 4195–4200. DOI: 10.1016/j.ijhydene.2010.02.072.